ERC Grants to Ten Technion Researchers

Ten researchers from the Technion received prestigious ERC grants from the EU.

A ceremony recently took place during the Technion’s annual Board of Governors meeting, awarding prizes to outstanding researchers. These include prizes donated by Technion supporters as well as recognizing prestigious ERC grants awarded as part of the European Union ‘Horizon 2020’ research program.

During the years 2016-2018, 10 faculty members from various disciplines won prestigious ERC grants. ERC Advanced Grants were awarded to Distinguished Prof. Moti Segev (Physics), Prof. Ilan Marek (Chemistry), Prof. Yuval Ishai (Computer Science), and Prof. Moshe Tennenholtz (Industrial Engineering and Management).  ERC Consolidator Grants were awarded to Assoc. Prof. Yuval Shaked and Prof. Lior Gepstein (Medicine).

ERC Starting Grants were awarded to Assoc. Prof. Asya Rolls (Medicine), Assoc. Prof. Uri Shapira (Mathematics), Assoc. Prof. Keren Censor-Hillel (Computer Science), and Asst. Prof. Shahar Kvatinsky (Electrical Engineering).

The Uzi and Michal Halevy Innovative Applied Engineering Award was won by Asst. Prof. Beni Cukurel (Faculty of Aerospace Engineering), and the Uzi and Michal Halevy Research Grants were awarded to Asst. Prof. Vadim Indelman (Aerospace Engineering) and Assoc. Prof. Alejandro Sosnik (Materials Science and Engineering).

The annual Hilda and Hershel Rich Technion Innovation Awards for inventions or research with business potential were won this year by: Assoc. Prof. Moran Bercovici, Nadya Ostromohov, Tal Zeidman-Kalman and Tally Rosenfeld (Mechanical Engineering); Assoc. Prof. Aharon Blank and Itai Katz (Chemistry); Assoc. Prof. Sefi Givli and Dr. Itamar Benichou (Mechanical Engineering); Prof. Gideon Grader, Assoc. Prof. Avner Rothschild, Dr. Hen Dotan, Dr. Gennady Shter and Avigail Landman (Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering); Assoc. Prof. Carmel Rotschild (Mechanical Engineering) and Asst. Prof. Yael Yaniv (Biomedical Engineering).